Tap On. Ride Easy.

Privacy

PRESTO understands that maintaining the privacy of your personal information is important to you. In order to meet its commitment to your privacy and obligations under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. F.31 (“FIPPA”), PRESTO has developed and will adhere to this Privacy Policy relating to the collection, use and disclosure by PRESTO of your personal information in connection with your use of the PRESTO Card.

Capitalized terms used in this Privacy Policy but not defined herein shall have the meaning given to such terms as set out in the terms and conditions for the PRESTO Card or the Website terms and conditions posted on the PRESTO Website on which this Privacy Policy appears.

Accountability

The Metrolinx Coordinator for Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy has been designated by PRESTO as the individual accountable for compliance in accordance with this Privacy Policy and FIPPA. 

All correspondence to PRESTO in accordance with this Privacy Policy and FIPPA shall be:

  1. in writing;
  2. accompany a fee of $5.00 made to the order of Metrolinx (FOI requests only); and
  3. specify in satisfactory detail the nature of the matter at issue or the information that is being requested. 

Correspondence may be submitted to the attention of:

Coordinator, Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy
Metrolinx
277 Front Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 2X4
 

Personal Information

Personal information that may be collected by PRESTO in connection with your use of the PRESTO Card is recorded information that identifies individuals and may include:

  1. information relating to financial transactions in which you have been involved or will be involved with PRESTO, including your credit card number and your bank account information;
  2. any identifying number, symbol or other particular identifier assigned to you by PRESTO;
  3. your address or telephone number;
  4. correspondence sent to PRESTO by you that is implicitly or explicitly of a private or confidential nature, and replies to that correspondence that would reveal the contents of the original correspondence; and/or
  5. your name where it appears with other personal information relating to you or where the disclosure of your name would reveal other personal information about you.

In connection with the PRESTO Services to be provided, personal information may be collected by PRESTO from you. As well, PRESTO may collect information about you through your use of the PRESTO Card.

PRESTO limits the amount and type of personal information collected from you to only the personal information that is required for the purposes outlined below, or the purposes identified to you when PRESTO requests your personal information. PRESTO will not use your personal information for any other purpose without first obtaining your consent.

PRESTO’s primary purpose for collecting your personal information is to provide the services and/or products requested by you. In addition, you agree that your personal information may be used, among other things, to:

  1. open and set-up your PRESTO Account;
  2. verify your identity and/or your eligibility for certain PRESTO Services;
  3. mail to you your PRESTO Card and other such items or communications;
  4. operate the PRESTO Services effectively;
  5. administer loyalty programs associated with the use of the PRESTO Services;
  6. protect you and PRESTO from error and fraud
  7. better understand your needs and eligibility for products and services offered by PRESTO or the Service Providers;
  8. communicate to you those products and services that may be of interest to you;
  9. improve the products and/or services offered to you; and
  10. comply with legal and regulatory requirements.

Consent

Your consent to PRESTO’s collection, use and/or disclosure of your personal information in accordance with this Privacy Policy and FIPPA may be obtained from you expressly or impliedly. Express consent may be obtained orally or in writing. Implied consent may be obtained based on some action you have taken, or an action you decided not to take, which action or inaction could reasonably be considered by PRESTO as evidencing your consent.

You have the right at any time to withdraw your consent by providing written notice to PRESTO, provided that there are no legal requirements to prevent this. However, if you withdraw your consent, you may no longer be eligible to use or be provided with some or all of the PRESTO Services, including use of the PRESTO Card.

Limiting Collection

In accordance with FIPPA, the collection of your personal information by PRESTO is limited to that which is necessary for the purposes identified herein. All personal information is collected by PRESTO in a fair and lawful manner.

Limiting Use, Disclosure

PRESTO shall only use or disclose your personal information in accordance with FIPPA. PRESTO will not, without your consent, sell or trade to, or share with any third party, your personal information for purposes other than those for which it was collected or for a purpose consistent with such purposes. However, you agree that PRESTO may disclose your personal information to third parties without your further consent in circumstances where: a. PRESTO has received your previous consent to such disclosure, including for the purposes set out in this Privacy Policy; b. disclosure to a third party is necessary in order to provide services to you; c. it is required or permitted by law or pursuant to a court order; d. PRESTO sells or transfers its business to a third party or restructures; or e. disclosure is reasonably required to a bona fide third party potential investor of PRESTO;

Disclosures in response to an official request

Under FIPPA, in certain circumstances, Metrolinx may share personal information of its PRESTO customers in response to a reasonable request from a police officer, special constable, or transit safety officer (“officers”). In such circumstances, Metrolinx may choose to share information without requiring a warrant or court order. These circumstances include:

  1. where there are immediate and compelling concerns about an individual’s health or safety, such as a lost or missing person, and there appears to be no other way for the official to obtain the requested information in a timely manner;
  2. in an emergency, to facilitate contact with a spouse or relative, such as where a person has been injured or is ill, and where the delay in providing the information could be harmful to someone’s health or safety; or
  3. where a PRESTO transit operator is investigating a safety or security incident, such as theft, vandalism, assault or other offence , on or in relation to the transit operator’s property or services.

Disclosures at Metrolinx’s own initiative

At its own initiative, Metrolinx may share personal information with a police officer, special constable, or transit safety officer where Metrolinx has a reasonable basis to believe that an offence has occurred on its property. In such cases, Metrolinx will limit the amount of information it discloses to what is relevant and necessary relating to the specific offence.

Disclosures in response to a court order or other legal requirement

In other circumstances, Metrolinx will generally require a court order such as a warrant or production order. This would include circumstances where:

  1. the incident giving rise to the request is not related to Metrolinx’s property or services;
  2. the request relates to information for multiple cards or accounts;
  3. the request relates to information over several weeks or more; or
  4. the request relates to financial information.

In addition, Metrolinx may be expressly required to disclose personal information pursuant to a federal or provincial law.

All such requests will be reviewed by Metrolinx’s Privacy Office. Metrolinx will also notify individuals that there information has been disclosed in cases relating to their individual health or safety, such as a lost or missing person request. In all other cases, Metrolinx will notify individuals that their information has been disclosed where law enforcement has authorized us to do so.

Accuracy and Individual Access

You may request access to your personal information at any time. PRESTO will act in accordance with FIPPA in providing you with a complete accounting of your personal information contained in PRESTO’s records. However, there may be circumstances where PRESTO is unable to provide all such information to you, such as, for example, if your records: (i) contain references to other persons; (ii) are subject to legal privilege; (iii) contain confidential information proprietary to PRESTO or another person (including, without limitation, proprietary information of any Service Providers); (iv) relate to an investigation regarding a breach of any agreement with PRESTO or any of its affiliates or contravention of laws; or (v) cannot be disclosed for any other legal reason. PRESTO endeavours to keep your personal information as accurate, complete and up–to–date as possible. If you wish to verify, update, remove or amend your personal information in our records, please notify PRESTO in writing as set out above. If an individual successfully demonstrates the inaccuracy or incompleteness of personal information, PRESTO shall amend the information as required. Depending upon the nature of the information challenged, amendment may involve the correction, deletion, or addition of information. Where appropriate, the amended information shall be transmitted to third parties having access to the information in question.

Use of Cookies

Cookies are generally used to make it more convenient for users to move around the PRESTO Website. If you choose, cookies may be used to 'remember' certain personal information, such as your password, in order to make it easier and faster to log-in and navigate the PRESTO Website. These types of cookies need to be stored on your computer's hard drive. Cookies used by PRESTO are encrypted to make the information in cookies unreadable to anyone except PRESTO.

Safeguards and Retention

All personal information collected by PRESTO will be protected by using appropriate and necessary safeguards under FIPPA against loss, theft and unauthorized access, disclosure, copying, use or modification. The methods of protection may include: a. use of personal identification numbers to access your PRESTO Account information on the PRESTO Website; b. technological measures, for example, the use of passwords and encryption technology; c. physical measures, for example, locked filing cabinets and restricted access to offices; and d. agreements between PRESTO and any of its third party service providers which require that any information provided by PRESTO to them must be maintained in confidence. PRESTO retains your personal information for only as long as it is required for the purposes set out in this Privacy Policy or as required by law or to respond to any issue which may arise at a later time. PRESTO will act in accordance with the requirements under FIPPA to destroy, delete or erase your personal information from its records when it is no longer required. There may however be circumstances where PRESTO may not be able to completely remove your personal information, including as a result of data backup procedures or document retention policies. In these circumstances such information will continue to be safeguarded.

Openness and Compliance

If you have any questions regarding this Privacy Policy or PRESTO’s privacy practices or if you believe that PRESTO is not complying with the terms of this Privacy Policy or FIPPA, please contact Metrolinx’s Privacy Office:

Senior Privacy Officer
Metrolinx
97 Front Street West, 2nd Floor
Toronto, ON M5J 1E6
416-202-5941

Metrolinx will investigate all complaints. If a complaint is found to be justified, Metrolinx and PRESTO shall take appropriate measures, including, if necessary, amending its policies and practices.

PRESTO is committed to disclosing information relating to its policies, practices and management in accordance with FIPPA. To make a freedom of information request, please contact Metrolinx’s Freedom of Information Office:

Coordinator, Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy
Metrolinx
277 Front Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 2X4
416-202-7382

Metrolinx will investigate all complaints. If a complaint is found to be justified, Metrolinx and PRESTO shall take appropriate measures, including, if necessary, amending its policies and practices.

Voyagez mieux : Tapez!

Vie privée

PRESTO comprend que le maintien de la confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels est important pour vous. Dans le but de tenir son engagement envers votre vie privée et ses obligations selon la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée, L.R.O. 1990, c. F.31 (« LAIPV P»), PRESTO a rédigé la présente Politique de protection de la vie privée et se conformera à cette politique de confidentialité relative à la collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation par PRESTO de vos renseignements personnels dans le cadre de votre utilisation de la carte PRESTO.

Les termes en majuscules utilisés dans la présente Politique de confidentialité, mais non définis aux présentes, ont le sens donné à ces termes tel qu’énoncé dans les modalités et conditions de la carte PRESTO ou les modalités et conditions du site Web affichées sur le site Web de PRESTO sur lequel cette politique de confidentialité apparaît.

Responsabilité

Le Coordonnateur Metrolinx pour la liberté de l’information et la protection de la vie privée a été désigné par PRESTO comme la personne responsable de la conformité, conformément à la présente Politique de confidentialité et de la LAIPVP.

Toute correspondance à PRESTO conformément à la présente Politique de confidentialité et de la LAIPVP doit :

  1. être par écrit;
  2. être accompagnée une redevance de 5,00 $ à l’ordre de Metrolinx (demandes d’accès uniquement); et
  3. préciser dans le détail satisfaisant la nature de la question en cause ou de l’information qui est demandée.

La correspondance peut être soumise à l’attention de :

Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée

Metrolinx

277 Front Street West,
Toronto, ON M5V 2X4 

Renseignements personnels

Les renseignements personnels qui peuvent être recueillis par PRESTO en lien avec votre utilisation de la carte PRESTO sont enregistrés qui identifient les individus et peuvent comprendre :

  1. des informations relatives à des opérations financières auxquelles vous avez participé ou participerez avec PRESTO, y compris votre numéro de carte de crédit et vos informations de compte bancaire;
  2. tout autre numéro, symbole ou identifiant vous étant attribué par PRESTO;
  3. votre adresse ou votre numéro de téléphone;
  4. de la correspondance ayant explicitement ou implicitement un caractère personnel et confidentiel que vous avez adressée à PRESTO, ainsi que des réponses à cette correspondance originale susceptibles d’en révéler le contenu; et/ou
  5. votre nom, s’il figure parmi d’autres renseignements personnels qui vous concernent, ou si sa divulgation risque de révéler d’autres renseignements personnels a votre sujet.

Dans le cadre des services PRESTO à fournir, PRESTO peut recueillir vos renseignements personnels. De plus, PRESTO peut recueillir des informations sur vous par votre utilisation de la carte PRESTO.

PRESTO limite la quantité et le type de renseignements personnels recueillis auprès de vous et recueille seulement les renseignements personnels qui sont nécessaires aux fins décrites ci-dessous, ou aux fins précisées au moment de la demande de ces renseignements personnels par PRESTO. PRESTO n’utilisera pas vos renseignements personnels à d’autres fins sans votre consentement.

L’objectif principal de PRESTO dans la collecte de vos renseignements personnels est de vous fournir les services et/ou produits que vous avez demandés. De plus, vous acceptez que vos renseignements personnels peuvent être utilisés, entre autres, pour :

  1. ouvrir et configurer votre compte PRESTO;
  2. vérifier votre identité ou admissibilité à certains services PRESTO;
  3. vous poster votre carte PRESTO et autres articles ou communications;
  4. exploiter efficacement les services PRESTO;
  5. administrer les programmes de fidélité associés à l’utilisation des services PRESTO;
  6. vous protéger et protéger PRESTO contre toute erreur ou fraude
  7. mieux comprendre vos besoins et votre admissibilité aux produits et services offerts par PRESTO ou les fournisseurs de services;
  8. vous communiquer les produits et services qui peuvent être d’intérêt pour vous;
  9. améliorer les produits et/ou services qui vous sont offerts; et
  10. respecter les exigences légales et réglementaires.

Consentement

Votre consentement à la collecte, à l’utilisation et/ou à la divulgation par PRESTO de vos renseignements personnels conformément à la présente Politique de confidentialité et de la LAIPVP peut vous être demandé expressément ou implicitement. Le consentement exprès peut être obtenu par voie orale ou par écrit. Le consentement implicite peut être obtenu en fonction d’une mesure que vous avez prise ou que vous avez décidé de ne pas prendre, qui pourraient être raisonnablement considérées par PRESTO comme des preuves de votre consentement.

Vous avez le droit à tout moment de retirer votre consentement en fournissant un avis écrit à PRESTO, à condition qu’il n’y ait pas d’obligation légale pouvant l’empêcher. Toutefois, si vous retirez votre consentement, il se peut que vous ne soyez plus admissible à utiliser ou être pourvu d’une partie ou de la totalité des services PRESTO, y compris l’utilisation de la carte PRESTO.

Limite de la collection

Conformément à la LAIPVP, la collecte de vos renseignements personnels par PRESTO est limitée à ce qui est nécessaire aux fins identifiées ci-dessus. Tous les renseignements personnels sont recueillis par PRESTO de manière loyale et licite.

Limitation de l’utilisation, divulgation

PRESTO n’utilisera pas ni ne divulguera vos renseignements personnels conformément à la LAIPVP. PRESTO ne vendra, n’échangera ou ne partagera pas sans votre consentement vos renseignements personnels à un tiers pour des motifs autres que ceux pour lesquels ils ont été collectés ou à une fin compatible à ces motifs. Cependant, vous acceptez que PRESTO puisse communiquer vos renseignements personnels à des tiers sans autre consentement de votre part dans les circonstances suivantes : a. PRESTO a reçu votre consentement préalable à une telle divulgation, y compris aux fins énoncées dans la présente Politique de confidentialité; b. la divulgation à un tiers est nécessaire pour vous fournir des services; c. elle est requise ou permise par la loi ou en vertu d’une ordonnance du tribunal; d. PRESTO vend ou transfère son entreprise à un tiers ou se restructure; ou e. la divulgation est raisonnablement nécessaire à un investisseur tiers potentiel de bonne foi de PRESTO;

Divulgation de renseignements en réponse à une demande officielle

En vertu de la LAIPVP, dans certaines circonstances, Metrolinx peut divulguer des renseignements personnels de ses clients de PRESTO en réponse à une demande raisonnable d’un agent de la paix, d’un agent de police spécial ou d’un agent chargé de l’application des règlements (les « agents »). Dans de telles circonstances, Metrolinx pourrait choisir de transmettre de l’information sans qu’un mandat ou une ordonnance du tribunal soit nécessaire. Ces circonstances sont :

  1. lorsqu’il y a des préoccupations immédiates et urgentes quant à la santé ou la sécurité d’un individu, comme dans le cas d’une personne égarée ou portée disparue, et qu’il semble ne pas y avoir d’autre façon pour l’agent d’obtenir rapidement les renseignements demandés;
  2. en situation d’urgence, afin de faciliter la communication avec le conjoint ou un parent, comme lorsqu’une personne est blessée ou malade, et lorsque des délais dans l’obtention des renseignements pourraient menacer la santé ou la sécurité d’une personne;
  3. lorsqu’un exploitant de services de transport en commun de PRESTO réalise une enquête relativement à un incident de sécurité ou de protection des personnes, comme un vol, du vandalisme, des voies de fait ou un autre délit qui touche directement ou est en relation avec la propriété ou les services de l’exploitant de services de transport en commun.

Divulgation de renseignements de la propre initiative de Metrolinx

De sa propre initiative, Metrolinx peut divulguer des renseignements personnels à un agent de la paix, à un agent de police spécial ou à un agent chargé de l’application des règlements lorsqu’elle a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’une infraction a été commise sur sa propriété. Dans de tels cas, Metrolinx limitera la quantité d’information divulguée à ce qui est pertinent et nécessaire relativement à l’infraction en question.

Divulgation de renseignements en réponse à l’ordonnance d’un tribunal ou à une autre exigence prévue par la loi

Dans d’autres circonstances, Metrolinx exigera généralement une ordonnance du tribunal comme un mandat ou une ordonnance de production. Ceci peut comprendre des situations dans lesquelles :

  1. l’incident à l’origine de la demande n’est pas lié à la propriété ni aux services de Metrolinx;
  2. la demande a trait à des renseignements liés à des cartes ou des comptes multiples;
  3. la demande a trait à des renseignements couvrant une période de plusieurs semaines ou plus;
  4. la demande a trait à de l’information financière.

De plus, Metrolinx peut devoir expressément divulguer des renseignements personnels en vertu d’une loi fédérale ou provinciale.

Tous ces types de demandes seront examinés par le Bureau de protection de la vie privée de Metrolinx. Metrolinx informera également les personnes que leurs renseignements ont été divulgués dans les cas liés à leur santé ou leur sécurité personnelle, comme une demande à l’égard d’une personne perdue ou disparue. Dans tous les autres cas, Metrolinx informera les personnes que leurs renseignements ont été divulgués lorsque la police nous aura autorisés à le faire.

Exactitude et accès individuel

Vous pouvez demander l’accès à vos renseignements personnels à tout moment. PRESTO agira conformément à la LAIPVP en vous fournissant un bilan complet de vos renseignements personnels contenus dans les dossiers de PRESTO. Cependant, il peut y avoir des circonstances où PRESTO est incapable de vous fournir toutes les informations, par exemple si vos dossiers : (i) contiennent des références à d’autres personnes; (ii) sont soumis à un privilège juridique; (iii) contiennent des renseignements confidentiels appartenant à PRESTO ou une autre personne (y compris, sans limitation, des informations confidentielles de tout fournisseur de services); (iv) se rapportent à une enquête au sujet d’une violation d’un accord avec PRESTO ou de ses sociétés affiliées ou la violation de lois; ou (v) ne peuvent être divulgués pour toute autre raison juridique. PRESTO s’efforce de garder vos renseignements personnels aussi exacts, complets et à jour que possible. Si vous souhaitez vérifier, mettre à jour, retirer ou corriger vos renseignements personnels qui sont inscrits dans nos dossiers, veuillez en informer PRESTO par écrit tel qu’indiqué ci-dessus. Si un particulier démontre avec succès l’inexactitude ou l’insuffisance des renseignements personnels, PRESTO doit rectifier les renseignements. Selon la nature des renseignements contestés, la modification peut comporter la correction, l’élimination ou l’ajout de renseignements. Le cas échéant, les renseignements rectifiés doivent être transmis aux parties tierces ayant accès aux renseignements en question.

Utilisation de fichiers témoins

Des fichiers témoins sont généralement utilisés pour rendre plus pratique la navigation du site Web de PRESTO par les utilisateurs. Si vous le choisissez, des fichiers témoins peuvent être utilisés pour « se souvenir » de certains renseignements personnels, tels que votre mot de passe, afin de faciliter et d’accélérer l’ouverture d’une session et la navigation du site Web de PRESTO. Ces types de fichiers témoins doivent être sauvegardés sur le disque dur de votre ordinateur. Les fichiers témoins utilisés par PRESTO sont codés afin de rendre les renseignements qu’ils contiennent illisibles pour tous sauf PRESTO.

Mesures de protection et conservation

Tous les renseignements personnels collectés par PRESTO seront protégés par des mesures de protection nécessaires et appropriées et la LAIPVP contre la perte, le vol et l’accès non autorisé, la divulgation, la reproduction, l’utilisation ou la modification. Les mesures de protection peuvent inclure : a. l’utilisation des numéros d’identification personnels pour accéder aux informations de votre compte PRESTO sur le site Web de PRESTO; b. des mesures techniques, par exemple l’utilisation de mots de passe et la technologie de cryptage; c. des mesures physiques, par exemple le verrouillage des classeurs et l’accès restreint aux bureaux; et d. des accords entre PRESTO et l’un de ses fournisseurs de services tiers qui exigent que toute information qui leur est fournie par PRESTO doit être maintenue confidentielle. PRESTO conserve vos renseignements personnels aussi longtemps que cela est nécessaire aux fins énoncées dans la présente Politique de confidentialité ou tel que requis par la loi ou pour répondre à toute question qui pourrait survenir à un moment dans le futur. PRESTO agira de manière à se conformer aux exigences de la LAIPVP pour faire disparaître, supprimer ou effacer vos renseignements personnels des registres lorsqu’ils ne sont plus nécessaires. Il peut cependant y avoir des circonstances où PRESTO ne pourra faire disparaître complètement vos renseignements personnels, dans le cadre, notamment, des procédures de conservation des données ou des politiques de rétention de documents. Dans ces circonstances, ces informations continueront d’être protégées.

Mesures de protection et conservation

Si vous avez des questions concernant la politique sur la protection de la vie privée ou les pratiques de confidentialité de PRESTO ou si vous croyez que PRESTO ne respecte pas les conditions de cette politique ou de la LAIPVP, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau de protection de la vie privée de Metrolinx :

Officier principal de la protection de la vie privée
Metrolinx
97 Front Street West, 2e étage
Toronto, ON M5J 1E6
416-202-5491

Metrolinx enquêtera sur toutes les plaintes. Si une plainte se révèle justifiée, Metrolinx et PRESTO peuvent prendre des mesures appropriées, y compris, au besoin, la modification de ces politiques et pratiques.

PRESTO a comme engagement de divulguer des informations relatives à ses politiques, à ses pratiques et à sa gestion conformément à la LAIPVP. Pour faire une demande d’accès à l’information, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau d’accès à l’information de Metrolinx :

Coordonnateur, Accès à l’information et protection de la vie privée,
Metrolinx
277 Front Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 2X4
416 202-7382

Metrolinx enquêtera sur toutes les plaintes. Si une plainte se révèle justifiée, Metrolinx et PRESTO peuvent prendre des mesures appropriées, y compris, au besoin, la modification de ces politiques et pratiques.