Tap On. Ride Easy.

Additional Information

An operating division of Metrolinx, PRESTO is a key component of Metrolinx's regional transportation plan.

PRESTO is an electronic payment system that eliminates the need for tickets, tokens, passes and cash. PRESTO works across local transit in the Greater Toronto, Hamilton and Ottawa areas, which makes paying for your trip simple, convenient and secure.

PRESTO also allows customers to travel seamlessly across multiple transit agencies with the one electronic fare card by tapping their card at stations and on buses.

An operating division of Metrolinx, PRESTO is a key component of Metrolinx's regional transportation plan. For more information about PRESTO and it works, visit our Frequently Asked Questions section.

PRESTO is rolling out on the TTC in stages. Visit getpres.to for more information.

PRESTO is actively investigating ways to enhance the customer experience such as self-service devices and mobile device applications. The system was designed to accommodate developments in fare payment technology. While PRESTO currently operates on a closed loop, its system is based on an open architecture, which supports multiple vendors and emerging technologies including contactless debit/credit, near-field communication (NFC) and enhanced online services.

Smart Card technology continues to be used and expanded by leading transit authorities throughout the world. Transit authorities using PRESTO-like cards include: Hong Kong, London and the Netherlands. Some benefits of PRESTO include:

  • The PRESTO card seamlessly links 11 transit agencies and their fare policies, making it even easier for people to travel in the Greater Toronto, Hamilton and Ottawa areas.
  • Fares and products offered such as senior, student and child discounts and monthly transit passes, loyalty programs, etc. can be included and updated as needed.
  • PRESTO encourages transit use, which helps to remove cars from the road on some of Ontario’s busiest traffic routes.
  • Users with a My PRESTO Account can protect their card balances if their card is lost or stolen.

PRESTO is an operating division of Metrolinx. The Province provides leadership, funding, policy, and program direction for the PRESTO system. Metrolinx administers the Accenture contract, and provides corporate services support.

The participating transit services include: Brampton Transit, Burlington Transit, Durham Region Transit, GO Transit, Hamilton Street Railway, Mississauga Transit, Oakville Transit, OC Transpo, Toronto Transit Commission, UP Express and York Region Transit.

Selecting a vendor to design, build and operate PRESTO in 2006, through a Request for Qualifications (RFQ) PRESTO entered into a 10-year contract with Accenture to build and operate the system to support seven GTHA transit agencies (Hamilton Street Railway, Burlington Transit, Oakville Transit, Mississauga Transit, Brampton Transit, York Region Transit, Durham Region Transit) and GO Transit. The value of the original contract was $232 million, comprised of $149 million in capital costs and $83 million in operating costs over the 10-year term.

A Fairness Commissioner oversaw the entire process to ensure fairness and neutrality throughout. The result of the procurement was reviewed by and approved by the province and the participating transit agencies. Metrolinx has commissioned two studies to assess the contractual agreements and financial practices of the PRESTO program.

Voyagez mieux : Tapez!

Informations supplémentaires

Division opérationnelle de Metrolinx, PRESTO représente un élément clé du plan de transport régional de Metrolinx.

PRESTO est un système de paiement électronique qui élimine les billets, les jetons, les laissez-passer et l’argent. PRESTO fonctionne sur les transports locaux dans les régions du Grand Toronto, de Hamilton et d’Ottawa, rendant vos paiements de transport simples, pratiques et sécuritaires.

La carte tarifaire unique PRESTO permet en outre aux clients de se déplacer sans interruption dans différents systèmes de transport en commun en présentant leur carte aux gares et dans les autobus.

Division opérationnelle de Metrolinx, PRESTO représente un élément clé du Metrolinx, le plan de transport régional. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur PRESTO, visitez notre section Foire aux questions.

The Royal Ontario Museum

Ripley's Aquarium of Canada

Art Gallery of Ontario

PRESTO recherche activement des façons d’améliorer l’expérience des clients avec des bornes libre-service et des applications pour les appareils mobiles. Le système a été conçu et mis en œuvre de façon à permettre les avancées technologiques dans le paiement tarifaire. Si PRESTO fonctionne actuellement en circuit fermé, le système s’appuie sur une architecture ouverte qui permet de multiples fournisseurs et les nouvelles technologies, notamment le paiement par carte de débit ou de crédit sans contact, les communications en champ proche et les services en ligne améliorés.

Les autorités les plus influentes en transport en commun de partout dans le monde continuent d’utiliser la technologie des cartes intelligentes et d’en accroître le champ d’application. Les autorités en transport suivantes utilisent un système de cartes semblable à celui de PRESTO : Hong Kong, Londres et les Pays-Bas. Certains des avantages de PRESTO comprennent :

  • La carte PRESTO relie de façon transparente 11 sociétés de transport et leurs politiques tarifaires, ce qui permet encore plus facilement aux gens de se rendre dans les régions du Grand Toronto, de Hamilton et d’Ottawa.
  • Les tarifs et les produits offerts, comme les tarifs réduits pour personnes âgées, étudiants et enfants, les laissez-passer mensuels, les programmes de fidélité, etc. peuvent être inclus et actualisés au besoin.
  • PRESTO encourage l’utilisation du transport en commun, ce qui contribue à éliminer les voitures sur la route sur quelques-unes des routes les plus fréquentées de l’Ontario.
  • Les utilisateurs de comptes PRESTO peuvent protéger leurs soldes de cartes si leur carte est perdue ou volée.

PRESTO est une division opérationnelle de Metrolinx. Les instances provinciales fournissent le leadership, le financement, les politiques et la direction du programme en lien avec le système PRESTO. Metrolinx administre le contrat avec Accenture et assure le soutien nécessaire aux services généraux.

Les services de transport en commun participants comprennent : Brampton Transit, Burlington Transit, Durham Region Transit, GO Transit, Hamilton Street Railway, Mississauga Transit, Oakville Transit, OC Transpo, Toronto Transit Commission, UP Express et York Region Transit.

En 2006, pour la sélection d’un fournisseur pour la conception, la mise en œuvre et l’exploitation de PRESTO, à la suite d’une demande de qualification, PRESTO a conclu un contrat de 10 ans avec Accenture pour que cette entreprise mette en œuvre et exploite le système qu’utiliseraient GO Transit ainsi que sept sociétés de transport (Hamilton Street Railway, Burlington Transit, Oakville Transit, Mississauga Transit, Brampton Transit, York Region Transit et Durham Region Transit). La valeur du contrat initial se chiffrait à 232 millions de dollars, ce qui comprenait des coûts d’investissement de 149 millions de dollars et des coûts d’exploitation de 83 millions de dollars pour la période de 10 ans du contrat.

Un commissaire à l’équité a supervisé tout le processus pour en garantir l’équité et la neutralité du début à la fin. Les instances provinciales et les sociétés de transport participantes ont alors examiné et approuvé le résultat de l’approvisionnement. Metrolinx a commandé deux études pour évaluer les ententes contractuelles et les pratiques financières du programme PRESTO.